Unofficial Basic Guide To CPU's

This is my first guide, and I am not a professional. So keep in mind that there could be mistakes in this, and if so, I would love it if you could correct me!
This will feature gifs, so watch out if your device doesn't support this.
If a tutorial like this has already been made, I don't mean to concurrent it, I'm doing this for fun!

In this post, I'm going to explain as much things that matter for consumers, when it comes to CPU's.

Essentials: these are the basics which are important, very important!

CPU, or Central Processing Unit, is literally the processor. It processes all 0's and 1's, and all other stuff. Yet, it doesn't do anything graphically (that's the Graphics Card, or the GPU), which doesn't make it any less important!

Spoiler

Cores and threads, one of the first thing that will pop up in the specifications.

• 2 cores is great for normal PC's and basic gaming.
  • Advanced gaming will GREATLY benefit from 4 cores, BUT MORE CORES WILL NOT HELP A LOT IN GAMING.
  • Video editing, rendering and multitasking: more cores = faster performance in this --> In this territory there is NO overkill.

Too make sure you understand the use of cores and threads, I will be giving you a dramatizing visual of it.

Keep in mind, this is a dramatization of the process. The speeds and movements may differ from the actual happenings, and probably do!

2Xuv8X2.gif

not between different manufacturers/architecture. I will explain this in a second.

Spoiler

As you can see, this is quite simple. Information gets on the thread, the thread sends it too the core. The core then processes the information, and voila!

Spoiler

Processor frequencies are quite important in gaming, as well as heavier tasks like video editing and rendering. It's used to measure the total workspeed of the processor. You can compare GHz between the same manufacturer and/or architecture, but