Should I get the I5 8400 or a R5 1600??

This is my first build and Im really confused.

The R5 1600 has 6 more threads, but I don't know if I really need them.

This PC is mainly for gaming and some PS,AI and CAD.

The I5 8400 is faster and cheaper, but the R5 has more threads, and I wont have to find an LGA 1151 board.

What are your thoughts/????

19 minutes ago, ArunCanSeeYou said:

This is my first build and Im really confused.

The R5 1600 has 6 more threads, but I don't know if I really need them.

This PC is mainly for gaming and some PS,AI and CAD.

The I5 8400 is faster and cheaper, but the R5 has more threads, and I wont have to find an LGA 1151 board.

What are your thoughts/????

It just depends. If you want Intel and gaming particularly, go with intel. If you want number crunching and faster speeds overall. Ryzen is your bet. I would go with ryzen 

Photoshop and CAD should perform better with tha 8400 so I'd get that instead.

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 5600X Heatsink: Gelid Phantom Black GPU: Palit RTX 3060 Ti Dual RAM: Corsair DDR4 2x8GB 3000Mhz mobo: Asus X570-P case: Fractal Design Define C PSU: Superflower Leadex Gold 650W

55 minutes ago, ArunCanSeeYou said:

Try to wait for Ryzen 2 in April

Would go for Ryzen in general just to have the threads if you need them, the bit better gaming performance on the i5 8400 isn't worth it IMO.

But where are you buying a GPU? Because you're likely better off with an R5 2400G, saving the rest of your money for when GPU prices are back to normal.

I edit my posts a lot, Twitter is @LordStreetguru just don't ask PC questions there mostly...

Spoiler

What is your budget/country for your new PC?

what monitor resolution/refresh rate?

What games or other software do you need to run?