Can We Design a Case for LTT to Make?

Can we help LTT avoid the "wooden PC case" and design a fully 3d printed and laser cut case for them? I can give Sketchup a go for really quick prototyping designs. I could give a go at a free copy of SolidWorks or similar (I've specced out the measurements of a case in it before, but am a total novice ;) ).

An example of the designs I've tried in Sketchup:

Spoiler

case1.jpg.5a57c02b86707a816a718481ab7c80ff.jpg

If you think it is worth the community designing one to at least try to put forwards to LTT to try and make, then I am open to suggestions for a theme! Once there, I can post up some quick design ideas.

What theme would you like to see in my our design?

I agree, they need to make more custom cases, and they should make it in a more profesionnal way. Their "Mystic Space" thing would have looked a lot nicer, had they used angled aluminium, rivets and metallic feet instead of just wood, glue and screws. Your design example looks a lot like a node 202 though.

528341746_1280x720.jpg

Yeah, I did my design that like... a year before that case came out! xD I also "designed" (drew on a post-it note) a phone with rounded corners at my college about 3 years before Apple did.

I wish I had an engraver/CNC/etc machine as my design was going for a pico power supply, or mounting the GPU above the motherboard. (I got a case made... but only for my Raspy Pi! :D ). So I at least know it can be done in concept.

For LTT I would stick to acrylic though, as I would not ask them to shell out for some more hardware. Some of the brackets can be laser cut or 3d printed. Then assembled nicely and neatly. RGB would certainly be part of the topic! Possibly something retro looking? Perhaps cameras or photography?

[Edit] Something like this 5 min concept? It would have to be spray painted acrylic or colour chosen acrylic to colour match some classic cameras!

Spoiler

concept1.jpg.ca0630e5a8339ca59f693fceee311fec.jpg