CAT-6 Ethernet questions.

abccool2020

I having a LAN party coming up and I am hosting it. I realized I needed to use ethernet to plug everyone in. The LAN party is going to happen in my basement. My router in on the 1st floor. There will be 5 people attending. I went downstairs to see if I can find an ethernet cable. So I found something, but my normal ethernet cable does not have fit. I did a bit of research and realized it is a cat-6 plug. Now, my question is how do I verify that it works with a network switcher. My other question is fast are network switchers. I am planning on buying (https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122005&ignorebbr=1&nm_mc=KNC-GoogleAdwords-PC&cm_mmc=KNC-GoogleAdwords-PC-_-pla-_-Network+-+Switches-_-N82E16833122005&gclid=CjwKCAiAtorUBRBnEiwAfcp_Y91wlTkk2Sc-YTb7WI6QlDidRr1xoQAe6ZnhciUL0ZS736DSBcPIDRoCqzkQAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds). It says 10/100 per port. Does it really mean I will only get 10 Mbps down?

I'm no networking expert, but I'll give it my best shot:

2 minutes ago, abccool2020 said:

It says 10/100 per port. Does it really mean I will only get 10 Mbps down?

It means you can get 10 or 100Mbps in either direction I believe.

3 minutes ago, abccool2020 said:

Now, my question is how do I verify that it works with a network switcher.

I would imagine as long as the switch will physically support CAT6 you'll be fine.

Congrats on the LAN party, I don't hear about a lot of those outside of PDXLAN and everything else these days(maybe I just have no friends that do them).

Quote or tag me( @Crunchy Dragon) if you want me to see your reply

If a post solved your problem/answered your question, please consider marking it as "solved"

Community Standards // Join Floatplane!

12 minutes ago, abccool2020 said:

did a bit of research and realized it is a cat-6 plug.