Home hosted servers worth it? (i'm noob)

Tea

Hello everyone sorry if i say something stupid i am a noob but i found servers on ebay with lots ram and i am debating buying them and renting them out to people but i want to know if its worth it in the long run and if anyone else is doing this what issues have they ran into and what should i expect.

the server specs :

Cpu : 2x Xeon E5620 Quad Core 2.40 GHz

Ram :  48gb ddr3

Psu : 2x Hot Swap PSU

Hard Drive : 1tb

HP Smart Array P410i ZM Controller

If you bring a server home with the intention to rent it out, you'll need to consider:

- your home internet connection, especially on the upstream side of things

- its power consumption and your electricity costs

- your ability to provide redundancy or any reliability guarantee at all

You can have a home server if you have a personal use for it, but to make a small business out of it is largely impractical.

2 minutes ago, SpaceGhostC2C said:

If you bring a server home with the intention to rent it out, you'll need to consider:

- your home internet connection, especially on the upstream side of things

- its power consumption and your electricity costs

- your ability to provide redundancy or any reliability guarantee at all

You can have a home server if you have a personal use for it, but to make a small business out of it is largely impractical.

I have taken electricity costs in mind already i think i should be okay that side but internet wise i didn't even think that and i was thinking making a tos but i guess those 2 are useless without doing something about my internet connection

I'd be curious about how much you are asking for 'rent' and who you are marketing to.

My question is let's say I rent this server What can I do with it, like what are you providing?

If its straight storage it will always be cheaper for me to go through Dropbox, or one drive or hell there is tons of others.