Ubuntu-Windows Dual Boot with two HDDs

WinNut

Hi guys, 

I'm trying to dual boot a rather unorthodox but simple setup:

3Zov2Vt.png

I am currently running Windows 10 on Disk 1 (a 120GB mSATA SSD) and wish to install Ubuntu on a 28GB partition which I have already allotted on Disk 0 (the original 280GB mechanical drive which came with the machine). Will installing Ubuntu into the 28G partition affect my E: drive at all? For context, I am not new to Linux dual-booting, as I have done it before on previous machines, but this is my first time doing it with two separate drives.

Thank you!

42 minutes ago, WinNut said:

Hi guys, 

I'm trying to dual boot a rather unorthodox but simple setup:

3Zov2Vt.png

I am currently running Windows 10 on Disk 1 (a 120GB mSATA SSD) and wish to install Ubuntu on a 28GB partition which I have already allotted on Disk 0 (the original 280GB mechanical drive which came with the machine). Will installing Ubuntu into the 28G partition affect my E: drive at all? For context, I am not new to Linux dual-booting, as I have done it before on previous machines, but this is my first time doing it with two separate drives.

Thank you!

Grub might hate you for it if you ever try to delete your Ubuntu install but that's about it. Make sure both OS boot types are the same, either Legacy or UEFI. Looks like your install of Windows is Legacy so you don't have to do anything special when installing Ubuntu.

|PSU Tier List /80 Plus Efficiency| PSU stuff if you need it. 

My system: PCPartPicker || For Corsair support tag @Corsair Josephor @Corsair Nick || My 5MT Legacy GT Wagon ||

When you're installing Linux, it should say if it'll overwrite everything. 

Cor Caeruleus Reborn v6

Spoiler

CPU: Intel - Core i7-8700K

CPU Cooler: be quiet! - PURE ROCK 
Thermal Compound: Arctic Silver - 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver 3.5g Thermal Paste 
Motherboard: ASRock Z370 Extreme4
Memory: G.Skill TridentZ RGB 2x8GB 3200/14