Why do people not recommend using the goto command?

dcgreen2k

As a beginner programmer, I think that goto is pretty useful, but people don't recommend using it. Is it because it's easy to exploit if someone gains access to the code, or is it as simple as there being a function for it?

Computer engineering grad student, cybersecurity researcher, and hobbyist embedded systems developer

Daily Driver:

CPU: Ryzen 7 4800H | GPU: RTX 2060 | RAM: 16GB DDR4 3200MHz C16

Gaming PC:

CPU: Ryzen 5 5600X | GPU: EVGA RTX 2080Ti | RAM: 32GB DDR4 3200MHz C16

It's generally because it's way too easy to fall into the habit of just always using goto and then you sooner or later end up with practically unreadable spaghetti-code. An experienced coder can use goto, but they know to use it sparingly, whereas a beginner tends to go overboard with it. It's best to first teach oneself the habit of not using goto, and only when one is experienced then possibly use goto sparingly and in carefully-considered places.

This is to say, it's nothing to do with exploits, it's all about producing code that is easier to maintain and extend in the future -- especially so, if you're making a large project.

Hand, n. A singular instrument worn at the end of the human arm and commonly thrust into somebody’s pocket.

In C++, goto can be quite dangerous because it is just implemented in assembly as a jump, so things like variable initialisation and stack creation are just skipped over. If you only jump within a scope, this is ok, but if you jump say from one if block to another it can cause issues I believe, and certainly jumping to a different function.

When used carefully, goto can be helpful, and in theory it's intuitive for people to learn, but the risk of it not working as expected for a new programmer makes it inadvisable.

nb. I don't have sources for this information, this is just based on my understanding of it based on information that I've seen before.

HTTP/2 203