How do I REALLY avoid static while building?

magyarosipeter

I looked after it, but 5 websites write 5 different things. So, I first install the new PSU into the new case, plug it into the wall, while leaving the switch off , "O". Then I just touch the metal part of the case every 1-2 minutes, and I should have no problems, right? Also, I caught that I shouldn't do it on a carpet, or have socks/shoes on. This is my first time building a PC, so I don't really want to mess everything up, frying one of my parts. 

You build your computer in the shower, with running water, and you inside it. That would solve that specific problem.  :P

But yes you are correct, you can even have the switch of the PSU turned ON, it doesn't really matter, just don't turned turn on the PC while you plug something as it might break it. But yea, the PSU is grounded (assuming your wall plug is as well), being metal (despite even painted), it would ground the case when installed, and you touching the PSU or case will ground you. An additional ground with and USB frontal case header is also there to ensure the computer is well grounded.

It is recommended to not build the system on carpet.. although many did and have no problem... it is just an extra precaution, as a built-up can be made.

6 minutes ago, magyarosipeter said:

I looked after it, but 5 websites write 5 different things. So, I first install the new PSU into the new case, plug it into the wall, while leaving the switch off , "O". Then I just touch the metal part of the case every 1-2 minutes, and I should have no problems, right? Also, I caught that I shouldn't do it on a carpet, or have socks/shoes on. This is my first time building a PC, so I don't really want to mess everything up, frying one of my parts. 

having the PSU plugged into a grounded outlet will ground the chassis and you can touch the metal to discharge. even when the psu unit is turned off