Interested in making a server/nas

Hello I am curious about making my old rig into a server/nas kind of build. The rig has a i5 4690 8gb ddr3(can add more if needed for server/nas system) gtx 760 will be buying more storage then whats in it currently but as of now their is 3tb.
Now I am new to this and was wondering if it was possible to make the rig do stuff like being able to load movies/series off of it from my phone say while I am out of the house, have it as a place for family members to put their stuff onto as a back up, host servers for people and have them up 24/7 if needed and to also back up my main pc, is all this possible and if so how. What are the steps needed to do so

its possible and you have plenty of power for that.

you can run freenas and be able to load videos/movies off of it using VLC i believe, and you can have it work with SMB (windows file sharing, it'll show up in 'networks' in windows exlporer) and they can have their own individual folders. hosting servers should be fine with their 'jails' system and it will be up as long as you dont shut it off or there's a power/ethernet failure

Ryzen 5 3600 stock | 2x16GB C13 3200MHz (AFR) | GTX 760 (Sold the VII)| ASUS Prime X570-P | 6TB WD Gold (128MB Cache, 2017)

Samsung 850 EVO 240 GB 

138 is a good number.

So while doing this through freenas, i should be able to say watch stuff on my phone while I could be in town away from my pc ? 

3 minutes ago, PaddyMully said:

So while doing this through freenas, i should be able to say watch stuff on my phone while I could be in town away from my pc ? 

if you set it up with plex or ftp or simmilar and enable port forwarding.

1 minute ago, Electronics Wizardy said:

if you set it up with plex or ftp or simmilar and enable port forwarding.

Is learning how use plex and port forward it difficult ? Sorry for stupid questions just curious and interested in building it into a server

If you use freenas try to use ECC ram if possible.