Stop me before I break something!

Lwizzit

So I just built my 1st rig. Wanted to do it right, so I watched a ton of tech videos for about 6 months before committing. Wanted to do it right.

So it's done. Asus Strix Z270e, i7 7700K cooled by the NZXT Kraken X52, Asus Strix Gaming  GTX 1080 TI, 16gb of G.Skill 3300 DDR4, Samsung Evo 960 250gb for boot, WD 2TB Black powered by an EVGA Nova 850W all tucked into the NZXT S340 Elite. Very nice build, if I say so myself.

So I spend the 1st week or so just tooling around with, playing with RGB lighting (I now hate CAM, but like Aura), do some light gaming at which I suck because I'm new to it too - but it's fun! Everything seems good.

Time to overclock, right? Right. I watch some more vids, and quickly establish a stable OC of 4.9GHZ on the core; I don't mess with the cache speed or base clock as I basically know $h!t about any of this. Oh, I needed to bring the RAM down to 2933 for stability, but I guess that's fine.

Brings us to right now. I want to benchmark it, right? I download what everyone seems to use. Passmark, 3DMark, Cinebench, and Heaven. I should also mention here that I also got MSI Afterburner to OC my already OCed GPU, which I VERY gently OC further. Like 130 Mhz more on the clock and 75 on the memory. I like that it has those great running graphs to monitor temps. I figure I'll leave those on screen while running benchmarks so I can monitor temps.

So I decide I'll just use Cinebench 1st. From what I've read it's a pretty quick run. So - I set everything up and go to run the CPU test. BTW, I never thought to run a baseline with my overclocking settings off. Or I did, and I'm lazy and don't want to have to redo everything. So I run it and..... I am getting 95-98 degrees C across all cores.

At which point I say 'whoa', stop running benchmarks and come here to ask WTF am I doing?

CPU is currently at 33 degs - I have CPUID running as I write this.