[updated] Anybody tried the Fallout 4 High Resolution texture pack? It's out now

Misanthrope

I'm curious to know how much is it hitting performance, if it truly needs a 6 core i7 and a 1080.

Updated: We have some testing by Joker:

-------

Current Rig

-------

I too would love to see how a bump in textures can suddenly make the game require a 6 core processor ಠ_ಠ

Solve your own audio issues  |  First Steps with RPi 3  |  Humidity & Condensation  |  Sleep & Hibernation  |  Overclocking RAM  |  Making Backups  |  Displays  |  4K / 8K / 16K / etc.  |  Do I need 80+ Platinum?

If you can read this you're using the wrong theme.  You can change it at the bottom.

1 minute ago, Ryan_Vickers said:

I too would love to see how a bump in textures can suddenly make the game require a 6 core processor ಠ_ಠ

And hyperthreading too

RIP i5 users

2 minutes ago, Ryan_Vickers said:

I'm not an expert, but does the game engine even support 6 cores? 

1 minute ago, 8-Bit Ninja said:

*shakes 8 ball*

All signs point to: No!

But alas I'd like to see...before committing to downloading 60gb that is.

-------

Current Rig

-------

3 minutes ago, Misanthrope said:

*shakes 8 ball*

what we need is someone with a 6 core intel processor to run the benchmark twice, once with all 6 cores one with 2 disabled 

7 minutes ago, 8-Bit Ninja said:

6 minutes ago, Misanthrope said:

*shakes 8 ball*

yes, some games take advantage of 6 cores, in the future, we will have higher cores CPU. 

1 minute ago, nerdslayer1 said:

yes, some games take advantage of 6 cores, in the future, we will have higher cores CPU. 

Some but we're talking this game that afaik doesn't or should not need 6 cores and 12 threads as this texture pack recommends.

-------

Current Rig

-------

2 minutes ago, Misanthrope said:

Some but we're talking this game that afaik doesn't or should not need 6 cores and 12 threads as this texture pack recommends.