Water or air cooling for 7600k?

NinjaSandvich

This may seem like a really dumb question, but I am new to PC building and this is my first one I'll ever do.

I plan to OC my i5-7600k but I am unsure if I need air or liquid cooling.

To me, water cooling does seem a bit overkill for an i5 but I am no expert. I do like the way AIO Liquid Coolers look, nice and sleek and have the fan on one side of the case rather than on the mobo.

Anyway, what do you think I need for the i5-7600k?

If you're able to get one, the Cryorig H7. It's an inexpensive tower cooler that's somewhat compact. It's what I use for my overclocked 6700k in an itx build. 

5 minutes ago, NinjaSandvich said:

This may seem like a really dumb question, but I am new to PC building and this is my first one I'll ever do.

I plan to OC my i5-7600k but I am unsure if I need air or liquid cooling.

To me, water cooling does seem a bit overkill for an i5 but I am no expert. I do like the way AIO Liquid Coolers look, nice and sleek and have the fan on one side of the case rather than on the mobo.

Anyway, what do you think I need for the i5-7600k?

Totally depends on what you want high oc =  Water-cooling or low if you wanna run in Add to dictionary is also a good reason people choose Water instead of air. and my personal opinion is that air is becoming something of the past the future of cooling is water-cooling. Water-cooling and especially Aio is just very reliable where if a fan from your air cooler stops working your cup will overheat and might stop some work it is doing. 

Get a good air cooler, they are quieter, better price to performance and they habe a longer lifespan. I recommend the Noctua NH-D15 (performs better than 240mm aio). Or the be quiet Dark Rock Pro 3 (looks much better, slightly less performance).

1 minute ago, frozeNNN said:

What oc do you expect?