What Micro Should I Buy?

Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to hobby electronics if you don't count making a shake flashlight in fourth grade, but I'm a freshman studying Computer Science and Physics in college. I'm looking to get some sort of prototyping platform reasonably cheap (under $50). The obvious choices are the Raspberry Pi and the Arduino, but I've heard of some other off-brand projects that are decent as well. I don't intend to do anything ridiculous with it, maybe some servo control or I2C type applications and I'm thinking about a couple of possible integrated applications though I won't be doing anything with those ideas for a couple years. Just hoping to get a few recommendations from people that have used these kinds of things before. Which ones are better for what applications? Which ones are easiest to learn on and have good documentation? As a side note: I currently have experience in python and java, but I am willing and able to learn any language if it has good documentation.

EDIT: I should also ask what model would be the best to go with.

Edited by TheSlamProgram

Id probably get a arduino. 

Most micro's will do simmilar things(you don't seem to have any specific requirements), but what your getting is the community and good software and cool projects and guides. 

Later on when your working on building a object to sell, you will start looking at digikey or the like for a micro that fits your exact needs, but a arduino is great for now.

If you have never used a micro before, just go for an arduino. Simple, cheap, well documented, and more tutorials than you can poke a stick at. Seriously, the arduino was designed specifically for beginners. No reason to look for anything else if you are just starting and all you want to do is some simple interfacing with the real world. Just consider that most artduino's are laughably underpowered for more advanced projects, specially those that require heavy calculations.

Cheers