Describe an occasion where you've come up with a fresh and different way of doing things

Squish4058

So I am currently an engineering student, applying for an internship and virgin media, and this question came up.

The only impressive thing I can think of is to do with computers so I was wondering if anyone has any experience with interviewing or doing interviews could you give your thoughts?

If you havent, just say if this if you think its impressive enough and different enough?

Capture.PNG

My Response

Over the summer my mother phoned me up to say she was having some issues with her very old laptop. In simple terms the issue was a heavily corrupted and unbootable hard drive.

The first thing I attempted to do was use windows safe mode, the same issue persisted so a more controlling solution was needed.

Next I found the .ISO file for the version of windows currently on the laptop and attempted to reinstall windows, this is a normal procedure for fixing windows problems of this magnitude.

The install failed because “Windows does not have access to the hard drive”.

My first action was to verify if the hard drive inside the laptop was working so I placed an Ubuntu USB into the laptop and was able to successfully copy 20GB of data to the hard drive.

Next I tried installing windows from one USB drive to another USB drive, both with and without the internal hard drive installed, with no success and the same error message.

In order to isolate the issue between the laptop or the hard drive within the laptop I installed the hard drive on my own computer and was able to successfully install windows, thus the issue being with the laptop.

After a few hours of online research, I attempted to boot a windows installer from a USB, copy installation files from the USB to the internal hard drive, boot the internal hard drive and install to the hard drive that it was getting the install files from.