Help me build a CAD computer

So I've been planning to build a new PC for awhile now but have but am having trouble picking the cpu, and what form factor to go with in general. My biggest problem is I am an engineer that does 3D CAD and computing intensive programs like MATLAB. I've had trouble figuring out exactly where to throw my money in this build mostly because I'm not sure which parts these programs will stress I.e. do I ball out on a 6 core cpu or will a quad be just fine? Is it worth the money for hyperthreading? Each of these choices are the difference in a few hundred dollars so I wanna make sure I'm not overspending. Lastly, if it is worth balling out on a cpu where else could I save money without sacrificing quality (psus, ssds, etc.)? 

Thanks! 

First, check what kind of acceleration your CAD software uses, basically you need to see if the software is GPU or CPU dependent and then i would spend more on that part. I have done work on CAD systems before and the software that you use will determine the choice.

If you are looking for a professional type system that isn't for gaming, then something like this could work:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1230 V5 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor  ($252.99 @ SuperBiiz) 
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler  ($24.99 @ Newegg) 
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X150M-PRO ECC Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard  ($133.30 @ SuperBiiz) 
Memory: Kingston ValueRAM 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR4-2133 Memory  ($46.98 @ Newegg) 
Storage: Crucial BX200 240GB 2.5" Solid State Drive  ($63.88 @ OutletPC) 
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive  ($46.98 @ OutletPC) 
Video Card: PNY Quadro K1200 4GB Video Card  ($257.99 @ SuperBiiz) 
Case: Silverstone TJ08B-E MicroATX Mini Tower Case  ($98.99 @ SuperBiiz) 
Power Supply: EVGA SuperNOVA GS 650W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply  ($73.98 @ Newegg) 
Total: $1047.06