Headphones and a Sound Card/DAC

Tyranade

I am looking at in the next month or so getting myself a Really decent pair of headphones and I want them to well be decent. I will be using them for Gaming (I have a stand alone Mic) and Listening to all different Genres of music. And I was wondering what I should get. 

Also I was wondering what kind of DAC or Sound Card I should buy. I have TONS of music and I am kinda new to this whole Sound Card / DAC business and was wondering what to buy. I don't use speakers I am a headphones person if that makes any difference but I am a bit eh on this whole External DAC thing because I am kinda worried I will loose it so I really would prefer a sound card.

Also I am going to be getting the Maximus VI Gene and was wondering if the On-Board Audio on that negates the need for a Sound Card with a Decent pair of Headphones.

So yeah I was wondering what should I buy.

I have a maximum limit of £150-200 on the Headphones and £100 for a DAC/Sound Card.

CPU: AMD Ryzen 7950X3D | Cooler: NZXT Kraken 360 2023 Edition | Motherboard: Asus X670-P Wi-Fi |  RAM: 32GB Corsair Vengeance 6000MT/s

GPU: XFX AMD Radeon 7800XT | PSU: NZXT C1000 | Storage: Corsair MP600 Core XT 2TB | Case: NZXT H7 Flow

CPU-Z Validation

Whatever you buy, don't buy a sound card. Buy an external solution.

For headphones, I recommend the DT990 for mixed genre's.

If you get any DT headphones, make sure you get the 80 ohm version, the onboard audio is pretty decent, don't waste your money.

Whatever you buy, don't buy a sound card. Buy an external solution.

For headphones, I recommend the DT990 for mixed genre's.

If you get any DT headphones, make sure you get the 80 ohm version, the onboard audio is pretty decent, don't waste your money.

Why shouldn't I go for a Sound Card? Also what External Solution would you recommend?

I wan't something that will allow me to change the EQ Settings on it.