What is PhysX and how does it work?

terrytek

I am wondering, what is PhysX, how does it work, and what hardware supports it? I am a newbie to this video card technology. I am planning to do a GTX 780 in SLI and a Galaxy Geforce GT610. If PhysX has any performance benefit, I might as well utilize this technology because I only have one other computer with PCIe and that one does not work that hard.

Kudos,

terrytek

"If it has tits or tires, at some point you will have problems with it." -@vinyldash303

this is probably the only place i'll hang out anymore: http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/274320-the-long-awaited-car-thread/

Current Rig: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600, Abit IN9-32MAX nForce 680i board, Galaxy GT610 1GB DDR3 gpu, Cooler Master Mystique 632S Full ATX case, 1 2TB Seagate Barracuda SATA and 1x200gb Maxtor SATA drives, 1 LG SATA DVD drive, Windows 10. All currently runs like shit :D 

The 780's would be better for PhysX than the GT 610.

If you ever need help with a build, read the following before posting: http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/3061-build-plan-thread-recommendations-please-read-before-posting/
Also, make sure to quote a post or tag a member when replying or else they won't get a notification that you replied to them.

It adds stuff like particle effects (I believe). Only Nvidea cards support it. That will either A. give you less performance or B. Give you no more performance.

What games do you pay ? Do they even have advanced GPU accelerated Physx ?

AMD Phenom II x4 955 OCed, HD 7850, LG 27EA33 1080P IPS, 4GB ram

Whatever you do, don't use the GT610 for PhysX. It will be much too slow, and will significantly reduce performance.

The 780's would be more than capable of running PhysX. Hell, even CPU PhysX would run better than on such a low-end card.