Can someone please explain this CPU question i have...

Go to solution Solved by Glenwing,

So ill start off by explaining that i am a new computer noob, so im still learning a lot. 

But so i was wondering how you can get an AMD processor that has 8 cores, 3.2gh, for only 99 bucks... While the intel version is .2 gh less and is about 800 dollars more expensive!

How could this be?! I've always been intel but now im questioning it

Links:

http://www.microcenter.com/product/437624/FX_8320E_Black_Edition_32GHz_Eight-Core_Socket_AM3_Boxed_Processor

http://www.microcenter.com/product/437205/Core_i7-5960X_30_GHz_LGA_2011-V3_Boxed_Processor

Thanks guys!

- Ethan

The pricing is in line with performance. Those specs alone don't tell you the performance.

You can read the description of this video for a more detailed explanation. (full disclosure; it's my own video, but it's for informational purposes only)

So ill start off by explaining that i am a new computer noob, so im still learning a lot. 

But so i was wondering how you can get an AMD processor that has 8 cores, 3.2gh, for only 99 bucks... While the intel version is .2 gh less and is about 800 dollars more expensive!

Links:

http://www.microcenter.com/product/437624/FX_8320E_Black_Edition_32GHz_Eight-Core_Socket_AM3_Boxed_Processor

http://www.microcenter.com/product/437205/Core_i7-5960X_30_GHz_LGA_2011-V3_Boxed_Processor

Thanks guys!

- Ethan

Links:

Thanks guys!

- Ethan

The pricing is in line with performance. Those specs alone don't tell you the performance.

You can read the description of this video for a more detailed explanation. (full disclosure; it's my own video, but it's for informational purposes only)

tl;dr core count and clock speed doesn't matter most of the time, and Intel has better single-core performance