make a power supply quieter

Hi :) 

so there's the problem : my power supply is a bit loud and I want to make it quieter but I dont know how.

I have a cooler master extreme 2 725w. this psu dont have fan on the top so i first tought to use foam and recover it but will it be succesfull?

I'm open to all your suggestions.

thank in advance :)

Hi :)

so there's the problem : my power supply is a bit loud and I want to make it quieter but I dont know how.

I have a cooler master extreme 2 725w. this psu dont have fan on the top so i first tought to use foam and recover it but will it be succesfull?

I'm open to all your suggestions.

thank in advance :)

replace the fan.....

Noise in a power supply usually comes from vibration. If everything's working properly the only source of vibration is the fan. That being said the interfacce between the PSU and the case can make that sound louder. If this is happening you can grab some rubberised material and fit it between the case and the PSU to dampen the vibration.

replace the fan.....

It's really that simple. It's basically the only thing in your PSU that moves. Just get a better, quitter, and sexier one.

My Buyer’s Guide!   

Build:                                               

CPU: Intel Core i5 4690K Cooler: Cryorig R1 Ultimate RAM: Kingston Fury White Series 8GB SSD: OCZ 100 ARC 240GB HDD: Seagate Barracuda 1TB Motherboard: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition Graphics Card: Powercolor PCS+ R9 390 Case: Phanteks Enthoo Pro (White) Power Supply: EVGA G2 750W Monitor: LG 29UM67-P 29" 21:9 Freesync Sexiness Mouse: Razer Deathadder ChromKeyboard: Razer Blackwidow 2014 Headset: Turtle Beach Ear Force XP400

replace the fan.....