Do YOU hate SATA as much as I do? Am I alone?

keoghjacob

*WARNING - TECH RANT BELOW*

I've been building PCs for over 10 years, and working on them for much longer than that.

...and, I remember the days when everything was running on Molex power and PATA ribbon cables. Albeit PATA was slower than sludge vs SATA, and Molex was aging and didn't have a real versatility other than carrying a static voltage...I'm not so fond of it's replacement.

While I love the simplicity of SATA, with its small connector and incredible throughput advantage over PATA (IDE), the whole female connector system used on hard drives and other devices is PATHETIC when it comes to durability.

So, I understand the movement away from the massive PATA male connector. Not only was it huge, but it was keyed in an awkward fashion where you'd sometimes forget it's and keep trying to insert it into the most hard to reach place in your case, jamming the male end into a hard disk only to realize 5 minutes later you just needed to flip it.

I see why we needed smaller and thinner cables. Great idea. But, why did the SATA standard skimp on durability when the SATA II standard was published?

When SATA I came out, 90% of users were using friction-fit SATA cables. They're not common today, but they're the SATA cables WITHOUT the metal clips on top. These didn't do damage to SATA ports on devices, and simply fit snugly (by friction) into ports without the need of securing clips. They didn't wear out ports, even though they were a bit easier to pull out of the port when you're working inside a PC.

AFTER SATA II, most drives and other peripherals started using the metal clip locking systems. These connectors are smaller than the others, and rely on small metal beads (or maybe...spikes, don't know exactly what they should be called) to grip plastic grooves on the drive to secure the cable.