Navigate real life in third-person using Oculus Rift and GoPro cameras

Hi guys, this is my first time posting.

http://www.polygon.com/2014/7/4/5869841/navigate-real-life-in-third-person-using-oculus-rift-and-gopro-cameras

Poland-based development team from mepi has created a proof of concept that allows users people to view real life from a third-person perspective.

This seems pretty cool as a proof of concept but I would like to see it be refined a bit more before it gets released. I can see this being used for some sort of media creation.

What are your thoughts on this and it's possible applications?

i dislike 3rd person.. watching your own back for hours seems pointless and VERY boring.

Proud Member of the Glorious PC Master Race

Why not from a side-scrolling perspective.

I think I saw a video of that once.

Stock coolers - The sound of bare minimum

thats some messed up 3rd person vision...

should be further back. (the camera that is)

ITX Monster: CPU: I5 4690K GPU: MSI 970 4G Mobo: Asus Formula VI Impact RAM: Kingston 8 GB 1600MHz PSU: Corsair RM 650 SSD: Crucial MX100 512 GB HDD: laptop drive 1TB Keyboard: logitech G710+ Mouse: Steelseries Rival Monitor: LG IPS 23" Case: Corsair 250D Cooling: H100i

Mobile: Phone: Broken HTC One (M7) Totaly Broken OnePlus ONE Samsung S6 32GB  :wub:  Tablet: Google Nexus 7 2013 edition

Still though, all in all, this is pretty damn cool! :D

thats some messed up 3rd person vision...

should be further back. (the camera that is)

I thought the same thing, but it's a proof of concept. so keep that in mind.