Using Linux as my main OS?

Well, I was wondering if using Linux for gaming is a good idea. I have no experience with Linux, but I've heard it has some compatability issues and is more focused on programmers' needs(Something I'm getting into, but can do fine on Windows). Is this true, or is using Linux for gaming viable? If it is I'm going for it and saving myself some money.

I think Linux is really cool, even with my little knowledge of it. I will move to it once all games are supported officially by steam, that's the only thing holding me back for now. I'd recommend windows 7 now if you have gaming needs otherwise pick a flavour ;)

export PS1='\[\033[1;30m\]┌╼ \[\033[1;32m\]\u@\h\[\033[1;30m\] ╾╼ \[\033[0;34m\]\w\[\033[0;36m\]\n\[\033[1;30m\]└╼ \[\033[1;37m\]'

"All your threads are belong to /dev/null"

| 80's Terminal Keyboard Conversion | $5 Graphics Card Silence Mod Tutorial | 485KH/s R9 270X | The Smallest Ethernet Cable | Ass Pennies | My Screenfetch |

you could just run a Virtual Linux pc or do a dual boot with windows as your main system and then you can use both :)

I7 2600k @ 4,5GHz - 16GB Kingston 1600Mhz RAM - Asus Sabertooth P67 - Samsung 830 128GB SSD - 2x Caviar Black 1TB - ADATA 80GB Boot SSD - Club3D 7870 XT - 42" Panasonic 3D Led TV - 22" Samsung SyncMaster

If you've never dealt with Linux, I wouldn't recommend setting it up as a gaming platform. The game choice is quite limited, or involve to much time to make it work (wine) comparing to windows. 

I've been using Linux as a main OS for a while now, but it's work related and I find it more efficient, my gaming rig is running Win8 because I don't have time to bother/fix the issues with gaming on Linux.

+1