Copycat companies

RevGAM
Posted (edited)

Last night, I watched the GN roast of Gamemax for essentially doing a poor copy of the Hyte (Y80?), calling it Hype. Given the poor thermal performance of both cases, I feel as though GM did an over-priced parody of a case that has received a lot of unwarranted attention, as have many other terrarium cases. 

Steve shortly pointed out that they would have done better starting from scratch than building a copy that was so bad that it cooked the PC and lacks enough storage space. 

Steve also pointed out that there are several other companies that engage copycat (patent infringement and IP theft), such as Segotep and Gamdias. It makes me wonder about SAMA, Raidmax, Draecena and several other companies. 

Does anyone know which companies routinely copy other companies' products? Not just cases, if you happen to know.

Edited by RevGAM
Corrected mistake made by Otto Rong.

I've been using computers since around 1978, started learning programming in 1980 on Apple IIs, started learning about hardware in 1990, ran a BBS from 1990-95, built my first Windows PC around 2000, taught myself malware removal starting in 2005 (also learned on Bleeping Computer), learned web dev starting in 2017, and I think I can fill a thimble with all that knowledge. 😉 I'm not an expert, which is why I keep investigating the answers that others give to try and improve my knowledge, so feel free to double-check the advice I give.

My phone's auto-correct is named Otto Rong.🤪😂

add thermalfake to your list.

that said, assume that everyone in the industry is at least partially copying each other's homework.

new ideas are rare, and there's only so many ways to make a square black box.

2 hours ago, manikyath said:

new ideas are rare, and there's only so many ways to make a square black box.

Then if one company rolls a 20 and their new idea takes off, everyone else is going to copy it.