Moving 200TB of Data quickly?

How can I move 200TB of data off of my NAS, re-format, and put it back without taking weeks to do so?

The best solution I can come up with that doesn't cost an arm and a leg is just getting some High capacity SSD arrays to temporarily store the data. Does anyone else have a better idea?

A bit of background of why this needs to happen:

I'll start off by saying I am NOT an IT professional or a network engineer. But I do know enough to be dangerous - so I'm looking for suggestions from people who know more than me.

I manage a video editing NAS for a small corporate video team. It's a Synology Rack Station with 300TB of storage. It's currently divided into 2 volumes - since Synology limits volume size to 200TB. Since my team uses this server only for one purpose - it's severely limiting to have an arbitrary subdivision of storage.

According to the Synology documentation - you can do up to 1PB volumes on our model IF you are using Raid 6. Unfortunately I'm currently using Raid 5. Thus my conundrum of having to relocate ALL of the data.

what model is the rack station, and what network setup?

I'd buy a second rackstation/nas and fill it with drives. Should copy pretty fast over 10/25/40GBE. Then you have a backup server incase something happens to the main one.

It's an RS4017xs+ with 2 expansion units filled with 10TB drives.. So buying a duplicate setup might be a bit costly for us. As it stands, our Backup is LTO based - so speed is an issue there.

5 minutes ago, Fatty 227 said:

How can I move 200TB of data off of my NAS, re-format, and put it back without taking weeks to do so?

The best solution I can come up with that doesn't cost an arm and a leg is just getting some High capacity SSD arrays to temporarily store the data. Does anyone else have a better idea?