giving a range in C

goatedpenguin

Hi all, I am VERY new to C and I am learning it by making a small program of Rock, paper, scissors. Now the way it works is that the user enters either Rock, paper or scissors and the program choose a random choice by crossing a random number. Here is my logic about the way I want to go about this:

char RPS[2] = {"Rock", "Paper", "Scissors"};
//I need to give it a range of from [0, 2](inclusive) so that it can print the element out at whatever the random number is but I dont know how to do this
//Also the way I made the list is wrong so I need some help there. If someone can explain me how to make a string in C I would appreciate it.

Thanks in advance 🙂

C does not have a string data type, it only has char arrays. The array you've created has a size of two, so it can only contain two characters, not three strings.

So for your use case you'd need an array of char arrays (char[][]). But since you only have three choices, it's likely easier to just pick a random number, then use a switch case to print the appropriate output.

One way you can limit the range of a random number is by using a modulo division (which is not ideal, but it'll do):

int r = rand() % 3;

This generates a random number, then divides it by 3 and returns the remainder, which is a number between 0–2.

Now just switch over the random number and print the appropriate word

switch(r) {
  case 0:
    // print Rock
    break;
  case 1:
    // print Paper
    break;
  default:
    // print Scissors
}

Spoiler
#include <time.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

void main() {
    char values[3][8] = {
        "Rock",
        "Paper",
        "Scissors"
    };

srand(time(NULL));
    int n = rand() % 3;
    printf("%d - %s\n", n, values[n]);
}

Remember to either quote or @mention others, so they are notified of your reply