Plan on building a new PC. Have a question regarding M.2

Lriya

Budget (including currency): 3-4k

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: Unknown, just a gamer, sometimes I record.

Other details (existing parts lists, whether any peripherals are needed, what you're upgrading from, when you're going to buy, what resolution and refresh rate you want to play at, etc): PC Part Picker

So far, this list is what I have. I do plan on overclocking my CPU which is one of the reasons why I'm going 420mm cooling. I don't have any listed for GPU/MOBO/CPU. I would go for a 13900k and a 4080. However, I do plan on getting those parts since I will be buying these later within next year. So perhaps news of the 5080, or 15900k etc might become available.

My question regarding the M.2. I am still pretty new to PC building, I only had built maybe 3 PC's so far. (Mine & for 2 friends). I'd say I'm still new though. Within my part list, I am planning on going with 3 M.2's as my drives. No Hard drives, or SSD's. One of the M.2's will be one of the new Gen 5? I hear they are fast and I plan on using that for my main windows and other important game/stuff . The other 2 are 980's which will be for other games, or whatnot.

Question is, with the newer motherboards now. Do I still need to keep SATA ports unplugged for M.2's? Such as, If using M.2_1 on the motherboard, I have to keep SATA 1 free. etc. So for installing 3 M.2's, I have to keep SATA 1,2,3 free while 4,5,6 is plugged in?

Thanks for any answers. For reference, I'll probably go with this board: MOBO