5800x lower wattage after all core ryzenmaster OC

Hi I'm a noob when coming to overclocking. I recently got a 5800x and I was told to do the ryzenmaster all core OC. It pushed core clocks up to 4.95ghz all core but lowered wattage. It was running at 150w staying at 4.8 and 4.7ghz all core. Now it runs at 120 to 130 watts. I feel like that's wrong due to the fact overclocking should increase wattage not lower it. 

It sounds more like it's incredibly unstable and clock stretching like crazy. 4.95GHz all core is basically unheard of outside of subambient cooling. You can confirm this by running a benchmark and seeing how the score relates to stock. 

You really don't want to be doing an all core OC on Ryzen 5000 outside of competitive benchmarking, usually you'll end up with worse performance overall than just enabling PBO and calling it a day. 

1 hour ago, RONOTHAN## said:

It sounds more like it's incredibly unstable and clock stretching like crazy. 4.95GHz all core is basically unheard of outside of subambient cooling. You can confirm this by running a benchmark and seeing how the score relates to stock. 

You can verify by running cinebench, scores lower than 4.8 allcore = clock stretching

I think hwinfo can also report effective clockspeed

1 hour ago, RONOTHAN## said:

You really don't want to be doing an all core OC on Ryzen 5000 outside of competitive benchmarking, usually you'll end up with worse performance overall than just enabling PBO and calling it a day. 

How high can pbo even boost the cpu singlecore anyways? apparently around 5ghz is possible but that seems like a pretty small jump in clockspeed, and afaik allcore tends to be abit lower than manually setting a static volt allcore oc

3 minutes ago, Somerandomtechyboi said:

How high can pbo even boost the cpu singlecore anyways?

5.0GHz to 5.1GHz depending on the chip. There's a couple that can do 5.2 though it's pretty rare. 

4 minutes ago, Somerandomtechyboi said: