Years of Hard Crashes with BIOs Resets

freebie

Hi,

I've been trying, unsuccessfully, to diagnose this for quite some time. Seeing if anyone has any ideas or ways to diagnose I've not thought of.

I'll start with the symptoms. When playing games, my PC will sometimes hard shutdown (not a BSoD, just power off). On restarting, the bios is wiped and I need to load my old profile.

Here are some notes of stuff I've been through and some points of interest I've picked up on:

1. It's not all games. Though it seems to be consistently when I using the PC for games. I recently started playing Deaths Door (great game fyi) and this is probably the most consistent game I've ever had produce this problem, and will crash the PC within 5 minutes of playtime. That's what inspired this post as now I have a somewhat consistent way to reproduce. Before other games would only crash once like every 10 or so sessions - so very irregular.
  2. The motherboard on this machine has been replaced as the same board died a few months back and I replaced it with the same board (I was kind of hoping this was going to resolve the issue and was dodgy board and it had finally died).
  3. I've tried running with default bios settings just to make sure it's not any of the virtualisation or XMP settings I have enabled being unstable.
  4. I've got the latest, and continued to get the latest chipset drivers for the motherboard as they've been released. None have solved my issue yet. Maybe some have made it less frequent, but that's had to tell and my just be a skewed perception as it's irregular anyway.
  5. I've got a Voltmeter out and tested the voltages on all the pins are what they should be. They are.
  6. I've also sent the PSU back to the manufacture, and they tested it, said it was fine, and sent it back. No idea what their tests were though, and if they test under load.