Suggestions on starting point for a complete noob who wants to make something

Darkclone

Hi All!

I have so much trust in the people on this forum that this is honestly my first port of call for asking/investigating this.

I want to start learning how to make programs (for fun more than anything) and I have something I want to make for myself but that I can give to workmates to use as well. It to me sounds like it would be a basic first thing to make. I want to describe what it is if anyone could then give me suggestions on what they think the best coding language would be to build it in please. I intend to then go and try and learn how to make it and see where the rabbit hole goes lol.

So basically, in one of my roles I help to support telephone crisis supporters when they are on imminent risk calls, as well as offering debriefs and wellbeing checks. On really busy nights sometimes we are juggling more than one call. So as a way of making this easier there are certain sentences we keep in a word document that we just copy and paste into the chat box. For example a "Hello" kind of message, then a "I am listening now" kind of message (obviously they are more complex than just a couple of words). Our chat system uses a color coding triage with 4 different colors to let us know what the importance of each chat is.

So my idea is to make a simple program that basically replaces the use of the word document. The top would have the 4 color code options, you select one and it stays selected until you choose another. Then underneath that would be boxes with simple things on it like "Greeting", "Listening", "Risk" and so on. So having a color selected then pressing one of these buttons would determine the version of that message you are copying. So say for "Greeting" if you have someone reaching out as they are starting their shift your greeting would be different to if you are "Greeting" someone who needs support on an imminent call.