Capture Cars Ideas

Sparky862

Hay guys hope all is well.

I am new to Streaming and I Stream from a single PC. I use my GPU as the encoder. Recently I found out about capture cards and what they do.

My question is this. Which card to get that will suit my needs?

I am Streaming at 1080p60fps. I am not looking to do background recordings AND Stream at the same time. The Capture Card is ONLY going to Stream, so I don't care about background recordings (tough I guess to be future safe it has to be included. But I will NEVER run Recordings AND Streaming at the same time. Either one or the other while I game).

My PC Specs are as Follow

UP7 Z77X Mobo

I7 3770K

GTX 1070 8GB

16GB DDR3 

1080p 144Hz Monitor

I looked at the Elgato HD60s + . Not sure if that is overkill for my needs?

Thank you.

What issues do you have with streaming currently? Id just stick with gpu encoding here. The capture card and gpu encoding should have a simmilar overhead as your pc still have to upload the stream in both cases.

4 minutes ago, Electronics Wizardy said:

What issues do you have with streaming currently? Id just stick with gpu encoding here. The capture card and gpu encoding should have a simmilar overhead as your pc still have to upload the stream in both cases.

The quality of the Stream.

Currently I use GPU Encoding (NVENC) which gives a more blockier Stream.

My CPU (H.264) is too weak to Stream and Game and the same time.

H.264 gives a more crisp and clear image compared to Nvenc. 

I use a 6000 CBR bitrate, and it iritates me that while on GPU encoder, if I play fast pase games, you still get bad image blur and the image is not as clear as it should be. You can still see pixelations aswell.

I looked at some reviews about capture cards, and all capture cards show a crisp, clear non pixelated image.

1 minute ago, Sparky862 said:

The quality of the Stream.

Currently I use GPU Encoding (NVENC) which gives a more blockier Stream.