Interesting fault with Ryzen 5 1600x - won't post when all cores enabled.

SonySandy

So first, 1st post. Go easy on me please.  I work in IT, and I used to be a Field Engineer, like 20 years ago though.

Second, I'll paint the whole picture so if TLDR; skip to that section.

Back in February 2021 I got hold of a Asus m/Board, Ryzen 5 1600x and 16gb ram on an ebay combo auction.  Deal was too good to miss!  Built a PC from it with a couple of old ex-mining RX570 cards I also secured on ebay.  Risky I know but all the kit arrived, appeared pretty cared for and best of all it all worked.

I've used this kit since then, but last week I had a couple of random reboots, now this was when running HiveOS over night, so I didn't think much of it, it does that sometimes.   So during day its gaming using Windows 10 on a NVME drive (remote play to a steamlink) and at night I boot it off a USB with HiveOS running.

So I notice one morning it hadn't been running in Hive, the PC was online but not mining so I gave it a remote reboot then..... nothing.  It would post but would die as soon as I tried to boot windows or HiveOS.  ( I only GPU mine, so the CPU is not taxed most of the time)

TLDR;

So a reliable for 8 months now won't boot properly but will post to bios.  

1. I reset the CMOS - no effect.  I also popped the button cell - no effect.  Load defaults in BIOS to be sure, no effect.

2. I pull the power from 1 GPU wondering if it might be the PSU sagging under load.  Nope effect.

3. I hook up a spare "good" supply.  Dead, what?  Turns out the spare good supply was DOA.

4. Pulled memory, stuck in an 8GB from another PC.  Same as above, posts but won't boot.  Tried all 4 memory slots, same.   

5. Pulled NVME, used a different USB to boot.  No joy still.

6. I try another GPU from another PC.  Same.   GPUs both work fine on another PC.

7. I order a new supply, this arrives and I fit it, no effect still post to bios but no boot.