SSD QUESTION

Upside Duck

Does the "written" on a ssd also resets when you factory reset your ssd? or your ssd is done when it reached its maximum write? im a newbie on pc stuff, bare with me if this question is non sense lol

The amount of data written to the SSD is saved in the SMART data, independent of your Windows installation. Resetting/reinstalling  Windows won't change that number.

The TBW is what the manufacturer generally thinks your SSD should last for.

"We're all in this together, might as well be friends" Tom, Toonami.

mini eLiXiVy: my open source 65% mechanical PCB, a build log, PCB anatomy and discussing open source licenses: https://linustechtips.com/topic/1366493-elixivy-a-65-mechanical-keyboard-build-log-pcb-anatomy-and-how-i-open-sourced-this-project/

mini_cardboard: a 4% keyboard build log and how keyboards workhttps://linustechtips.com/topic/1328547-mini_cardboard-a-4-keyboard-build-log-and-how-keyboards-work/

11 minutes ago, Upside Duck said:

Does the "written" on a ssd also resets when you factory reset your ssd? or your ssd is done when it reached its maximum write?

SSD write cycles are finite, regardless of whether you tell the SSD to initiate its' built-in secure erase function. In fact, erasing the NAND cells on an SSD technically further reduces its' lifespan because (for simplicity's sake) you're writing over the cells with "blank" data.

That being said, most consumers will never fully wear out an SSD's write lifespan unless they're doing very heavy file workloads. I have a Samsung 840 Evo 250GB SATA SSD from 8 or so years ago that's had close to 100TB written before it was put into retirement, but it still performed exactly like it did on day one. 

image.png

Desktop: KiRaShi-Intel-2022 (i5-12600K, RTX2060) Mobile: OnePlus 5T | Koodo - 75GB Data + Data Rollover for $45/month
Laptop: Dell XPS 15 9560 (the real 15" MacBook Pro that Apple didn't make) Tablet: iPad Mini 5 | Lenovo IdeaPad Duet 10.1