What makes a computer overall faster?

I'm an artist and a programmer and I would like to know, what makes a computer overall faster when doing certain operations like opening a program, saving HUGE vector art documents, rendering 3D scenes in blender, importing files into a game engine (specifically Unity & Unreal Engine) and compiling code?

Should I go with a very high-end CPU like a Ryzen™ Threadripper™ or an Intel i9 and get a mid-range GPU (if I can find one) like the Radeon RX 5700 XT or the RTX 2060 Super for example? Or should I have both a high-end CPU & GPU?

I mainly do programming, art (Vector Design & 3D Modelling) is kind of a hobby.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

3 minutes ago, Abdel Fattah Radwan said:

because of this line there is absolutely NO reason to go for a threadripper or i9. stick to something more moderate, either a 5600x or equivalent priced intel i-whatever in your country. even an 5800x would be huge overkill unless you have money to burn.

🌲🌲🌲

◒ ◒ 

Just now, Arika S said:

because of this line there is absolutely NO reason to go for a threadripper or i9. stick to something more moderate, either a 5600x or equivalent priced intel i-whatever in your country. even an 5800x would be huge overkill unless you have money to burn.

You might have heard how long it takes to compile a simple code change in Unreal Engine have you? That's why I mentioned these two in particular. Thanks for the heads up anyways!

Rendering 3D: at uni i did a paper on 3d rendering and what limited me in my project work was the RAM on the lab computers. You need as much ram as you can get to do cool things. I had to severely handicap my particle effects on their machines.

Compiling code: you just need a fast cpu and a ssd. The number of cores you can make use of depends on what you are compiling. A game programmer needs a gaming PC. I think thread ripper will be overkill for games programming.

4 minutes ago, Abdel Fattah Radwan said: