Need Advice to help Purchase a New Laptop!

Well I have been watching a lot of your videos thru facebook. I have found out a few things...
1. I really am Way dumb when it comes to you guys.
2. I really have found out there is a TON of products and information about computers and laptops that I just really don not know!

So I am in need of a new laptop. My current laptop is a Lenovo G560(0679-99U) that I bought back in 2010 when I was in deployed to Afghanistan. I bought it from Newegg and back then their customer service was Outstanding in helping me get a laptop that was great for what I needed and was able to ship it to me in afghanistan! Now.... They do not give advice any more!
So I'm asking the "Pros" for help to get me a new laptop. My Lenovo is starting to make noises and I know its just a matter of time before it dies on me.
My budget is $900.00. And That is stretch!!! I'm retired from the US Air Force but I still work on airplanes for a living. I play a couple of game and my favorit is Panzer General and New Panzer Commander. Now my Lenovo can't play the new game because it just doesn't have the power or equipment to get it done.

Could you please help out and old Guy with some advice on a new system that can do Word, Excel, Power Point, Acces and play new games for $900.00 or less???

Thank you so very much
V/R

F16egress

19 minutes ago, F16egress said:So I'm asking the "Pros" for help

First of all I’m gonna let you know that I’m not really a pro, but hopefully I can give you a checklist of sorts. You’re going to want to look for a laptop with an i5 or i7 most likely, pay attention to the generation, 8th and above will probably be the best for you. If you want start playing or doing more intense games or programs it might be good to try to find one that has a 2060, or 2070 in it. It will say so in the name if it does. I hope this helps and sorry I couldn’t really give you a solid answer.