I'm getting less performance than I should be getting on my gaming laptop.

Go to solution Solved by AbhinayK,

Update: Problem solved by repasting. The factory thermal paste application LITERALLY DIDN'T COVER HALF THE GPU. Once i repasted i got a WHOPPING 20 degrees decrease in temprature. I also undervolted by 125mV and undervolted my GPU just to stay safe to 1300Mhz across all voltages.

Okay so i have an HP omen 15 (2019) model with i7-9750H and a Rtx 2070 max q with 16 gb ram.

I've been trying to play games recently like The division and Mortal Shell. At the start of the game i get good fps but then it goes down to 20-30 at times.

I am using throttlestop to undervolt my cpu by 125mV in cache and in core, to help with the temps.

Someone on reddit suggested i run a cinebench test which i did and i got 1548 in Multi core and 267 in Single core. What i should be getting is 2400+ and 440+.

I also took a log file of my cpu with throttlestop when i was gaming and as the temperature rose my game's fps dropped. What's weird is that temperature never reached alarming levels of hot.

Log file: https://pastebin.com/dT6veF7g

I need serious help cuz this is my work laptop and i can't afford performance drops like these.

1 minute ago, AbhinayK said:

Okay so i have an HP omen 15 (2019) model with i7-9750H and a Rtx 2070 max q with 16 gb ram.

I've been trying to play games recently like The division and Mortal Shell. At the start of the game i get good fps but then it goes down to 20-30 at times.

Is the laptop plugged into wall power when you're gaming on it, or are you running off the battery?

Desktop: KiRaShi-Intel-2022 (i5-12600K, RTX2060) Mobile: OnePlus 5T | REDACTED - 50GB US + CAN Data for $34/month
Laptop: Dell XPS 15 9560 (the real 15" MacBook Pro that Apple didn't make) Tablet: iPad Mini 5 | Lenovo IdeaPad Duet 10.1
Camera: Canon M6 Mark II | Canon Rebel T1i (500D) | Canon SX280 | Panasonic TS20D Music: Spotify Premium (CIRCA '08)