BIOS updates

Alright. So I haven't preformed a BIOS update in years. And to tell you how long ago, UEIF wasn't even a thing yet (the blue cmos screen was the typical interface).

I'm not a beginner at PCs by any stretch, I just avoided this one particular thing because when the older BIOS needed updated, if you messed up, your mobo was done for. And I have just avoided it like the plague because nothing ever messed up and I didn't want to brick the motherboard. (and I mean hey, MSI's website says that if it's not broke, don't fix it). But, I need to figure this out, because the BIOS should get updates by me when they come out for my x470 and x570.

However, I have an older motherboard now (MSI x470 Gaming Pro) for a 2nd machine that I need to finally update the bios for in order to add support for the Ryzen 3rd gen CPUs, and the additional memory compatibility they've added.

So in short, what is the best method. There's all these programs now, and I've read like 3 different ways, but which way is fool proof.

Second question, some places mention that a "backup" exists of the bios. How does this come into play if an update fails.

4 minutes ago, oorty said:

, if you messed up, your mobo was done for. 

That's still the case lol

4 minutes ago, oorty said:

what is the best method. There's all these programs now, and I've read like 3 different ways, but which way is fool proof.

You go to your manufacturers site 

You go to support

You type your exact mobo model and then you download the latest bios

Watch a video on how to do it 😉

5 minutes ago, oorty said:

Second question, some places mention that a "backup" exists of the bios. How does this come into play if an update fails.

It's called a dual bios motherboard 

If one fail you just switch to the other one