Storage noob help

Winther

Hey guys!

Ok, I dont think im a noob but when it comes to hardware raid, software raid, server solutions and home servers im ot excactly a pro.

Im planing on getting 2-6 x 3tb WD Red drives for a home server/media pc, and im really confused as to if I should go with a dedicated raid card, also what OS I should use?

Windows Home Server r2 (dont remember the year)

Windows Home Server 2011

Windows Server 2012

Windows 8 (the storage spaces feature sounds quite good to me, just dont know what to expect in terms of non-local access in Win8)

Some Linux solution

FreeNas

Nas4Free

anyway, if anyone could tell/teach me a little about all this on a pretty basic level or maybe just link me to some other sites that explain this that would be greatly apriciated!

(Comming soon)

You will be able to access volumes from Win8 from other locations on the network, as long as you have the username/password combo to an account on the PC. Volumes can be storage space based (I believe). If you're not looking to do parity volumes then storage spaces will work just fine. You really should have a backup though, regardless of whether you have a RAID setup or not.

I do not feel obliged to believe that the same God who has endowed us with sense, reason and intellect has intended us to forgo their use, and by some other means to give us knowledge which we can attain by them. - Galileo Galilei
Build Logs: Tophat (in progress), DNAF | Useful Links: How To: Choosing Your Storage Devices and Configuration, Case Study: RAID Tolerance to Failure, Reducing Single Points of Failure in Redundant Storage , Why Choose an SSD?, ZFS From A to Z (Eric1024), Advanced RAID: Survival Rates, Flashing LSI RAID Cards (alpenwasser), SAN and Storage Networking

and what is the difference between parity and mirror? is that if you fx have 3 drives and one of them is backup, is that parity?