Keep or switch ? Is Alienware 17 R3 a bad laptop ?

alexdpars

Hi guys,
I have quite a bit of a dilemma right now with my PC. I own an alienware 17 R3 i7 6700hq GTX 970M that I upgraded to 32 GB(2400mz) of ram and added a samsung 970pro 512 GB to it 6 month ago.

I am a programmer and a casual gamer and over the past few years i've been happy with this machine it was rock solid and didn't had to move it much (was at work most of the time). For the past few months i'v been moving the laptop a lot more from work to home and vice versa and I noticed couple of issues. Sometimes the computer won't go to sleep when I close the lid and when I open it back up the computer won't come back wich force me to close it by holding the button and it is really annoying for me and non productive. My laptop is kind of mission critical to me when it comes to productivity when I need it I need it fast and I need it to work. I also like to fire a game on lunch time without having me to close nearly all of my applications to be able to play and lately i've had issues to play few games like CS:GO I have good framerates (over 100 most of the time) but the game sometimes still freeze (few milisecond enought to be noticable) not sure if it is a frame drops or cpu related issues.

My overall experience was ruined since Intel security patch BIOS (which I did). My code build times almost doubled sinces then I got loadings sometimes in visual studio and I think my gaming issues are related to that. The pc run really hot fan spin a lot especially when gaming.

I tried to resolve the issues but no luck so far. I replaced the whole heatsink and fans, upgraded the pcm followed instructions from the web to resolve the lid issue but no luck so far.

I am considering switching my laptop I am really deceived by my alienware I hoped it would last at least two more years unless you guys come with a solutions.