Upgrading i5-4690k PC. Having issues with part choices.

So I'm in the process of choosing parts to upgrade my old Windows 7 i5-4690k PC. I'm going to keep the 750w psu and my GTX 970 to use in my new system, until I get more saved for a RTX. I'm mostly going to use it as a gaming PC but I also am in the process of learning Android development, I also do some HTLM and Java programming, but at the moment I'm still new to Android. I'm upgrading becasue Windows 7 only supports 16GB of RAM and I have DDR3 atm. I might OC a little down the road, but I didn't OC my current PC and it's been fine for me.

I was originally looking at the i7-9700k but after doing some research the last few day I'm leaning more towards the i7-8700k. For the MB I was getting the Asus ROG Strix z390-E but I've heard a lot about how Asus kinda dropped the ball with it's z390 boards. I also haven't chosen my case yet, I would like a full tower, but will take a mid tower if I like it, so I can upgrade again with SLI RTX cards and a water cooling setup. I also picked the most popular fan on pcpartpicker as a place holder until I finalize the rest to make sure I have a big enough fan.

My part list that I have so far, I would like to keep the MB around $250 and the case around $200. Any advise would be helpful, I pick the Asus board since i have the Z97-A and have always gotten good boards from them.

P.S. I also just bought a 500GB portable ssd to backup my current system, incase windows does windows stuff, but for some reason the backup fails while trying to read the shadow copy.

Sadly, the hyper 212 evo isn't king anymore, so change the cooler. Also, Asus did pretty bad with their motherboards for Z390, they all have pretty bad VRMs so the board gets toasty when overclocking. You can spend way less (or about the same) and get a gigabyte aorus z390 board. The z390 aorus boards have the best overclocking out of all the z390 boards.

aorus pro z390

noctua nh-d15s chromax w black cover