Teacher looking for solutions

nbarten

Hey everyone, longtime lurker... finally making an account to get a helpful solution.

I'm a middle school teacher.  I love to play music in my classroom during the time when students are passing from one classroom to another.  The problem is that I'm forgetful and often am busy speaking to students during that time.  Is there a program that could simply schedule my computer to play music for 6 minutes at a time 8 times per day.  I've found solutions to start music using the Windows scheduler program, but have found that to be cumbersome in practice and I'm far from a "power-user."  I don't mind having to start a program at the beginning of the day, but would prefer if the program would be automatic.  The workstation I use in my classroom runs Windows 7.  Any help the community can give would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a ton!

Nathan Barten

Medical Science

Cambridge Middle School

Cambridge, MN

Sounds too much like a niche-thing for there to exist any good premade-solution, or at least I can't think of anything good for what you have in mind. I'm tempted to tell you to learn Python and then have the Python-script call e.g. VLC to play the music-files, but since you're not a power-user, that might be a wee bit too much work on top of your job. Another option would be to get one of us who already are familiar with Python or similar languages to whip you up something (not me, though; I'm already a bit overloaded even as-is, so I'd want some small compensation)

EDIT: Just making a playlist in Winamp and an Autohotkey-script that sends multimedia-keys on a schedule to Winamp might be a better approach.

Hand, n. A singular instrument worn at the end of the human arm and commonly thrust into somebody’s pocket.

Thanks for your reply, WereCatf.  That's what I was afraid of...