How to set up wake on lan? (complete beginner)

1832vin

Hi, i've been trying to set up wake on lan, but have been stuck, every tutorial out there seems to only show that you should "insert your DNS address here" or "enter your public domani here" but i have no idea how to go around finding a DNS address.....

I'm trying to set up my computer so that when i'm at work, i can turn on my PC at home through the internet so i can use team viewer to set up rendering jobs. do i have to buy a domain for this to work?

so far, i've turned on wake on magic packet from device mangement, and turned on the setting in the bios, but then i'm stuck now.... Please Help!!

Thanks!

Well, so what computers are on your home network and what router are you using.

Since if you had googled it, you need a wake computer/component on your network to achieve this.

If this is already to much for you i'd say don't bother unless the stuff in Teamviewer is good enough for you (and works).

When i ask for more specs, don't expect me to know the answer!
I'm just helping YOU to help YOURSELF!
(The more info you give the easier it is for others to help you out!)

Not willing to capitulate to the ignorance of the masses!

To wake your computer you need to be able to send a "wake up" signal to it somehow. Since your computer is most likely behind a router, this means you need to either connect to your router (e.g. VPN) and then send that signal through that connection or forward the required port to your computer. This requires you to either know your public IP address or get some form of dynamic DNS.

https://www.howtogeek.com/192642/how-to-remotely-turn-on-your-pc-over-the-internet/

Remember to either quote or @mention others, so they are notified of your reply

the place where you work probably has a firewall that will probably block WoL packets. I dont think it will work across networks from a residential to coorporate network. you can still try it though.