Windows XP + Q6600 + GTX 285 = WIN

Sousuke

The XP Q6600 Rig! Low budget!

For a long time I've wanted to build what I would say could be the best Windows XP could support however as a student I couldn't justify more than about £80 to spend.

The other day I managed to get a Motherboard with a Q6600 for just £14! So now I have key bits I have decided that now is the best time to build this system!

I am going to use mainly used parts and eBay and a few new things as and when I can!

Follow for more as I will be getting in the parts in soon!

The Motherboard is a ECS MCP73VT-PM a motherboard from a Packard Bell PC. Nothing high end but it will be perfect for a Windows XP Era Gaming PC as it has an nVidia 7050 / 610i Chipset. It only has 1 PCIe x16 slot so the choice of graphics card wasn't easy.

The GPU, I've gone for a GTX 285 as its a high end GPU with good support for Windows XP also fits in with the Pre 2010 era. I got this GPU about 6 months ago at a price of £10 as I had it in mind for this build, was going to get a second for SLI however with this motherboard one will have to do!

The CPU being the Q6600 was just something I had to do being one of the first true Quad Core CPUs. 

Memory would have to be an Integral 2 x 2 GB DDR2 667MHz kit, I know Windows XP can only support 3.5GBs however may as well go all out as this part only cost me £8 used.

Hard drive is just a 500GB WD Blue SATA Drive which I bought in a job lot of hard drives which I've used most of them now so kinda free.

The most expensive part of this build is the PSU, I have a 400W PSU from an old OEM Machine however 400W isn't enough and I have no idea of the quality of it so I bought an EVGA 500B for £30 which has all the connectors and wattage I need for this build. Also with a 80+ Bronze certification will do well in this system.