Asus Soundcards - which one to buy?

Heizoel_Walther

Hey guys, I am new to the whole soundcard and awesome quality stuff so don't throw too many numbers at me or at least explain them.

I think about getting a soundcard preferably from ASUS because Linus is recommending them. But feel free to recommend something else.

Right now I have this onboard audio controller => VIA VT2021 and a Logitech G430 headset (the Dolby surround one).

I'd also want to know with which price level (for the sound card) I start hearing a (big) difference to the Logitech solution now, if you mean a soundcard is necessary for me and if and how I can use the front audio jacks on my case with a soundcard.

3570K @4.1GHz on a Gigabyte Z77X-D3H with 8GB of Corsair XMS3 overclocked to 2000MHz CL11 with a GTX 770 all inside a Corsair 600t case.

none.

simple as that.

"Probably Because I'm A Dangerous Sociopath With A Long History Of Violence"

get a good headphone first with a mod mic if you need one , and dont get a sound card get a usb dac instead like the fiio e10

Logitech headphones need no AMP or sound card to hear any improvement. What you hear is what you get. I'd suggest buying some sweet headphones instead of a soundcard.

"If you do not take your failures seriously you will continue to fail"

none.

simple as that.

ha..haha. no. It won't make any difference.

Wow, I really did believe it would get better after Linus ranted about it on the latest Stream, I guess not. How about you help him out then instead of just ridiculing him?

How about: wrong motivation for actually getting a PCIe sound card. What are your actual needs? I don't suppose you have a powerfull amplifier hooked up to Harman Kardon speakers, have you? If it's a regular surround sound system then the audio chipsets the passed 5 years have been more than acceptable. I'm running my chipset in a 2 channel, 24 bit, 96000 Hz quality. That's more than ample for most audio formats.