Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

RX 580 power cable burnt

 Share

Hi, 

A few days back one of my GPU cable was burnt. Other was running fine. Thought some random issue. 

 

But then I found this guy

 

https://www.reddit.com/r/gpumining/comments/9wyk23/rx580_crashing_after_start_mining/?st=JOJRU2SS&sh=106e20c2

 

Another thing I noticed that,  There’s a blank pin port at the PSU end of the cable. And the plastic burnt in the same rail. Here’s a pic of burnt pins.

2314BF22-22CA-4DD7-AFF7-A49B0194B61B.thumb.jpeg.895ad458d9c72a36810090343bd81b37.jpeg

 

And here’s the one of blank pin port.

3B75EEB8-C715-4403-8615-8F6B6CA8BAA8.jpeg.bd0035a82b35d166078ca6c64915e389.jpeg

 

 

My guess is that somehow it pulled much higher output than it should. But why & how to prevent it??

 

My GPU is RX 580 & PSU is CM V750

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Link to post
Share on other sites

11 minutes ago, seon123 said:

Could be that it just wasn't fully plugged in. 

It was properly plugged in, I doubled checked before starting the PC. The other guy on reddit has same issue like me. He also has same GPU.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Link to post
Share on other sites

not uncommon for one or two of the pins to be dummies

CPU: i7-2600K 4751MHz 1.44V (software) --> 1.47V at the back of the socket Motherboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme4 (BCLK: 103.3MHz) CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 RAM: Adata XPG 2x8GB DDR3 (XMP: 2133MHz 10-11-11-30 CR2, custom: 2203MHz 10-11-10-26 CR1 tRFC:230 tREFI:14000) GPU: Asus GTX 1070 Dual (Super Jetstream vbios, +70(2025-2088MHz)/+400(8.8Gbps)) SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256GB (main boot drive), Transcend SSD370 128GB PSU: Seasonic X-660 80+ Gold Case: Antec P110 Silent, 5 intakes 1 exhaust Monitor: AOC G2460PF 1080p 144Hz (150Hz max w/ DP, 121Hz max w/ HDMI) TN panel Keyboard: Logitech G610 Orion (Cherry MX Blue) with SteelSeries Apex M260 keycaps Mouse: BenQ Zowie FK1

 

Model: HP Omen 17 17-an110ca CPU: i7-8750H (0.125V core & cache, 50mV SA undervolt) GPU: GTX 1060 6GB Mobile (+80/+450, 1650MHz~1750MHz 0.78V~0.85V) RAM: 8+8GB DDR4-2400 18-17-17-39 2T Storage: 1TB HP EX920 PCIe x4 M.2 SSD + 1TB Seagate 7200RPM 2.5" HDD (ST1000LM049-2GH172), 128GB Toshiba PCIe x2 M.2 SSD (KBG30ZMV128G) gone cooking externally Monitor: 1080p 126Hz IPS G-sync

 

Desktop benching:

Cinebench R15 Single thread:168 Multi-thread: 833 

SuperPi (v1.5 from Techpowerup, PI value output) 16K: 0.100s 1M: 8.255s 32M: 7m 45.93s

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Link to post
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Newbie0 said:

Hi, 

A few days back one of my GPU cable was burnt. Other was running fine. Thought some random issue. 

Looks like it was a bit worn and a couple of pins bent...

 

 

1 hour ago, Newbie0 said:

But then I found this guy

Totally different thing as user error because he used two connectors of one cable that was only connected with 8pins on the PSU Side.

 

That's because people don't understand voltage, current and that too much current will cause a fire...

"Hell is full of good meanings, but Heaven is full of good works"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Link to post
Share on other sites

On 11/16/2018 at 8:55 AM, Jurrunio said:

not uncommon for one or two of the pins to be dummies

Why it's done?

doesn't it create a pressure on other pins?

I'm completely noob in this ...  

 

On 11/16/2018 at 9:35 AM, Stefan Payne said:

Looks like it was a bit worn and a couple of pins bent...

 

Totally different thing as user error because he used two connectors of one cable that was only connected with 8pins on the PSU Side.

 

That's because people don't understand voltage, current and that too much current will cause a fire...

I don't get it. My cables pin on the Psu side wasn't bent or something. 

And that guy used a 8+6 pin power cable & PSUs always have only 8 pin.

do you have any suggestions to prevent this form happening ??

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Link to post
Share on other sites

19 minutes ago, Newbie0 said:

Why it's done?

 

doesn't it create a pressure on other pins?

 

I'm completely noob in this ...  

Because they can do that without going out of spec? I'm not sure which side the dummy pin is on, but it could be linked to a ground wire on the PCIe connector's side. PCIe 8pin has 3 live and 5 ground pins, so it's ok for them to use less ground pins than spec as long as all the wires are equally capable.

CPU: i7-2600K 4751MHz 1.44V (software) --> 1.47V at the back of the socket Motherboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme4 (BCLK: 103.3MHz) CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 RAM: Adata XPG 2x8GB DDR3 (XMP: 2133MHz 10-11-11-30 CR2, custom: 2203MHz 10-11-10-26 CR1 tRFC:230 tREFI:14000) GPU: Asus GTX 1070 Dual (Super Jetstream vbios, +70(2025-2088MHz)/+400(8.8Gbps)) SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256GB (main boot drive), Transcend SSD370 128GB PSU: Seasonic X-660 80+ Gold Case: Antec P110 Silent, 5 intakes 1 exhaust Monitor: AOC G2460PF 1080p 144Hz (150Hz max w/ DP, 121Hz max w/ HDMI) TN panel Keyboard: Logitech G610 Orion (Cherry MX Blue) with SteelSeries Apex M260 keycaps Mouse: BenQ Zowie FK1

 

Model: HP Omen 17 17-an110ca CPU: i7-8750H (0.125V core & cache, 50mV SA undervolt) GPU: GTX 1060 6GB Mobile (+80/+450, 1650MHz~1750MHz 0.78V~0.85V) RAM: 8+8GB DDR4-2400 18-17-17-39 2T Storage: 1TB HP EX920 PCIe x4 M.2 SSD + 1TB Seagate 7200RPM 2.5" HDD (ST1000LM049-2GH172), 128GB Toshiba PCIe x2 M.2 SSD (KBG30ZMV128G) gone cooking externally Monitor: 1080p 126Hz IPS G-sync

 

Desktop benching:

Cinebench R15 Single thread:168 Multi-thread: 833 

SuperPi (v1.5 from Techpowerup, PI value output) 16K: 0.100s 1M: 8.255s 32M: 7m 45.93s

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Link to post
Share on other sites

8 hours ago, Newbie0 said:

Why it's done?

doesn't it create a pressure on other pins?

I'm completely noob in this ...  

Look at the Pinout of the 8pin PCIe Connector.

It has 5x GND and only 3x Power.

 

8 hours ago, Newbie0 said:

I don't get it. My cables pin on the Psu side wasn't bent or something. 

And that guy used a 8+6 pin power cable & PSUs always have only 8 pin.

Look at the Picture. You see a gap on the middle and right pin, not on the left one.

 

8 hours ago, Newbie0 said:

do you have any suggestions to prevent this form happening ??

Yes, only use one Connector per cable, look at the connector before using it and make sure that the connector is in good condition and not too worn.

 

This connector looks  a bit worn, if the connection isn't good enough, you have high resistance, that causes heat, wich if it is bad enough, burns the connector...

 

"Hell is full of good meanings, but Heaven is full of good works"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Link to post
Share on other sites

21 hours ago, Stefan Payne said:

Yes, only use one Connector per cable,

So I should use only the 8 pin connector??

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Link to post
Share on other sites

21 hours ago, Stefan Payne said:

only 3x Power

 

That’s why 3 pins were burnt...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Link to post
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, Newbie0 said:

So I should use only the 8 pin connector??

???
I don't understand

3 hours ago, Newbie0 said:

That’s why 3 pins were burnt...

Exactly.

"Hell is full of good meanings, but Heaven is full of good works"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Link to post
Share on other sites

16 hours ago, Stefan Payne said:

???
I don't understand

You said to use only one connector per cable?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share


×