LMG wants to add solar power, what a professional roofer has to say.

Commodore Sim
Go to solution Solved by BuckGup,

Knowing Linus he’ll be like I ordered these 50 solar panels off Aliexpress and wired them up and we are making enough to power 1 PC. The title would be HOW TO POWER YOUR PC WITH FREE ENERGY!!

Really though you sound like you know what you are talking about and @LinusTech should have a read before considering 

So a few weeks ago (floatplane calender) a video was posted where @LinusTech mentioned that solar might be a project LTT/LMG could engage in. While I'm generally lukewarm at best on the cost effectiveness of solar.  I'll put those opinions to the side now and focus only on the building integration side of adding solar.

I'm a commercial flat roof installer with over 10 years experience, I'm also well learned in most external building systems.

When adding something like solar to your building there's a bad way, a good way, and a best way.  Not surprisingly the price is proportional. Though this is only the install price, down the lifespan it's back to front.

There are two ways to mount solar.  To the side of a building or onto the roof.  Greater latitude means more angle on the panels as well.  Likely we can assume that LMG would opt for the roof install.  There are a few areas of consideration:

Building Integration:

LMG studio has a single ply ballasted EPDM rubber roof.  This means that the water is basically kept out by fully cured inner tube rubber (EPDM).  And the 1-1_1/2" inch stones spread across the roof are ballast to hold the roof in place against wind tear off.  Though they also have the effect of blocking UV rays from the membrane, which is always handy.

This type of roof is relativity inexpensive but performs extremely well against the forces of nature.  Unfortunately it performs poorly against the meddling of humans, more on this later.