Old PSU for new build?

Ruo94
Go to solution Solved by STRMfrmXMN,
1 minute ago, Ruo94 said:

Is it just not safe to use an older PSU? I'm not really doing a budget build, so I don't mind replacing it. But if it's usable and reliable, I'll keep using it :P

What would the warranty do?

It's typically less safe than using a brand-new one, yes :P In the same way most brand-new cars with 0 miles on them are more likely to get you home than a 10-year old car with 200K miles.

I believe that the 850W and 750W versions of that M12 were independently-regulated, rather than group-regulated, meaning that the unit isn't completely garbage by today's standards, however the warranty ensures that if the PSU breaks that you're sent a new one. Once a PSU is out of warranty it becomes more of a liability. 

I've been using this Antec HCG 750 for almost 5 years. I wanna upgrade my computer in the upcoming months, and I was wondering if i need to upgrade my PSU too.
Current build:
CPU: i7-4770k

Mobo: Asus A97-A

GPU: GTX1060 6gb *

Memory: 12gb DDR3

Upgrade:
CPU: Ryzen 2700x

Mobo: not sure yet

GPU: GTX1060 6gb (unchanged. I just upgraded it last year)

Memory: 16gb DDR4. 3000mHZ

I do a lot of 3d rendering and game a bit too.

I would say this is ok but I would get the base 2700. Also check local craigslist. You could save a ton. I got my 7700k mobo and ram for 350. The extra cores from ryzen will be useful for rendering. Old xeons could also be an option. I have a friend who got a 10 core xeon after a local place upgraded servers.

8 hours ago, Ruo94 said:

I've been using this Antec HCG 750 for almost 5 years. I wanna upgrade my computer in the upcoming months, and I was wondering if i need to upgrade my PSU too.
Current build:

Upgrade:

I'd still save on a new, more modern unit.

The HCG-750 seems OK IIRC but its not something I'd recommend to use.

"Hell is full of good meanings, but Heaven is full of good works"

1 hour ago, Stefan Payne said: