i7 8700k or Ryzen 7 2700X?

I am upgrading a system that is about 4 intel generations old. But checking the new releases of the new AMD Processors, i've been doubting a lot. I use my system for heavy gaming (Witcher 3, Destiny 2, Battlefield 1/4, Fortnite and up comming games), as well as some light video editing and some heavy 3D rendering as I'm an architecture student. So I wanted to know, which CPU fits best my needs. I want a future proof system that might last for atleast 3-4 years. I am currently on a GTX970 but waiting for new nvidia gpus to release, so ill be pairing the to be chosen cpu with the 1-80 GPU of the new architecture. Please help me decide wether should I get the i7 8700k or the Ryzen 7 2700X, I have been doubting for over a week and I really need to know which is better.

I would suggest that you go for a i7 8700K becuase it is a really good CPU and it's really future-proof so you wouldn't have to upgrade your CPU for atleast 5 years then!

Have a great day! 

Corsair iCUE 4000X RGB

ASUS ROG STRIX B550-E GAMING

Ryzen 5900X

Corsair Hydro H150i Pro 360mm AIO

Ballistix 32GB (4x8GB) 3600MHz CL16 RGB

Samsung 980 PRO 1TB

Samsung 970 EVO 1TB

Gigabyte RTX 3060 Ti GAMING OC

Corsair RM850X

Predator XB273UGS QHD IPS 165 Hz

iPhone 13 Pro 128GB Graphite

Both are good cpus. The 2700x is the better value but the 8700k is a better performance cpu when overlooked to 5ghz. So either get the 2700x and run it at stock with it's stock cooler or get the 8700k and get a nice beefy cooler or aio and crank it up to 5ghz. Those are the only 2 options that make sense. I love my 2700x and it is a great value cpu and will suit your needs well. The 8700k is really good for high single threaded performance but at a premium. 

On 7/19/2018 at 4:07 PM, ne0tic said:

I would suggest that you go for a i7 8700K becuase it is a really good CPU and it's really future-proof so you wouldn't have to upgrade your CPU for atleast 5 years then!

Have a great day!