Create a website using Python - server side development

Quick disclaimer - I'm quite new to server side web development and I've just recently started doing research so my apologies if anything I'm saying doesn't make any sense. I'm familiar with HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Python for offline programming, but I'm finding that I'm way over my head making this confusing advance from client side to server side.

So some time ago I decided I want to make a personal website with various features, like a place to host some of  my coding projects , maybe a small blog or something, and a URL shortener. I've already made the decision between buying a server to run at home and purchasing from a provider, but now I'm looking at how I want to accomplish the features my website will have and how I want to build it. Specifically, I'm looking at which web server to use and which frameworks and server-side languages to use. I figured that since I already know Python, a framework like Django or Flask would be a good choice instead of having to learn PHP. But for some reason, the resources I'm finding online for Django and Flask (or really any alternative to a simple LAMP stack) are talking about dynamic web pages and REST apis and reverse proxies and all this complicated crap - do I need to learn all of these things if all I want to do is run the equivalent of a LAMP stack with Python in place of PHP? I'm completely over my head - I want to make a simple website, probably just a set of static pages with some scripts and a database to do the URL shortener thing. Is there maybe an Apache plugin for Python like there is for PHP? How do I set this up?

I would ask on a site like StackOverflow for this, but I'm worried that it will get removed for being too opinion-based or for being a duplicate of an unhelpful question from 5 years ago. I find that the folks here are much less elitist when it comes to helping computer noobs.