As-small-as-possible eGPU

Dear Communauts,

I am a physicist and a OpenCL, CUDA and  C++ programmer for a large scientific (high energy physics) collaboration.

I quite often fly through (mostly) Europe and I need a good platform to bring with me in a backsack that allows me to:

1. Run OpenCL code
  2. Run CUDA code
  3. Run Mac OS X (personal and opportunistic choice)
  4. Improve graphics performances for CAD and casual evening gaming sessions

I am actually working with an awesome MacBook Pro Retina 15" mid 2014, equipped with an Iris Pro and a GTX 750m, and I am really happy with that machine.

This machine is provided by my institution and, by the end of my PhD (Oct '18) I'll have to return it.

At that point I would like to get a modern machine, but I cannot find neither a hackintosh-capable laptop that fully satisfies me nor an Apple laptop with CUDA support.

At a given point an idea jumped in my head as a crazy monkey: may I be able to create a little thunderbolt box with a small GPU that can handle all my tasks with any TB2 or TB3 equipped computer?

To cite Linus, let's find out!

The enclosure

I started digging and I found the first piece of the jigsaw: a Sonnet Echo SEL.

echoexpresssel_casefrontback.png

This awesome TBx to PCIe 8x (mechanical, 4x electric) enclosure can be equipped with a low profile and single slot PCIe card. "TBx" means that the enclosure comes in both TB2 and TB3 versions, with the possibility to switch between the two buying the upgrade (downgrade) board from Sonnet itself.
After some email with Sonnet presales I got a precise statement on the max power of the enclosed card:

OK, here’s the deal. the 60W power supply is 12V @ 5A.

15W is allocated to a down-stream bus-powered device. If you don’t connect a device, you harvest 15W.
15W is allocated to charging a Mac, but this works only with Thunderbolt 3 Macs that are not plugged into the wall, so you can harvest another 15W.