Here's hoping the LTT community can advise on a career

FlightRisk

This is kind of a shot in the dark here.

However I recently quit my retail job to try and find a career and I am thinking something in IT as it is the only thing to hold my attention, perhaps something with networking or security. Problems are though, I have no experience or knowledge outside of dicking around at home.

To get to the point, I'm hoping somebody here has industry experience is able to give some advice/recommendations of where to start.

I have found a place online offering a cheap course material for some Cisco Certs (CCENT, CCNA, CCNP, CCDA), although not covering the exams.

Hopefully this is not unwelcome.

At first I would suggest the "trenches" start in IT Support... It is a broad field to get into... 

After getting all hopes in humanity destroyed, pick the IT path which gave you the most satisfaction.

I personally am an IT allrounder, I like the diversity. So my current "evolutionary" It Job is It System Architect... as in long form... being able to plan and size a whole companies IT, from server, to storage, to WAN/LAN, securtiy, to clients to internal it processes... And not only planning but implementing as well... no matter if from scratch or with migrating of the old IT. Even some coding as well.

But this is what I like to do in IT =) 

I can only hint at getting a broad spectrum IT Job at first... pick up knowledge, find out what tickles your fancy, and from there move on.

Main System:

Anghammarad : Asrock Taichi x570, AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @4900 MHz. 32 GB DDR4 3600, some NVME SSDs, Gainward Phoenix RTX 3070TI

System 2 "Igluna" AsRock Fatal1ty Z77 Pro, Core I5 3570k @4300, 16 GB Ram DDR3 2133, some SSD, and a 2 TB HDD each, Gainward Phantom 760GTX.

System 3 "Inskah" AsRock Fatal1ty Z77 Pro, Core I5 3570k @4300, 16 GB Ram DDR3 2133, some SSD, and a 2 TB HDD each, Gainward Phantom 760GTX.